Tomorrow is my birthday. Tomorrow is also my first birthday as an officially diagnosed celiac. This means I can’t do a “normal” birthday yummy.

Enter Pinterest…

I saw an idea for Mardi Gras cupcakes and thought I could just switch out the flour and make them GF. So, during nap time, Travis and I played in the kitchen. It took the ENTIRE nap time but we got it done. This led me to decide they will be for special occasions only.

From February 2012


While they were cooling, we went to a basketball game.

From February 2012


Then, when we came home I iced my cupcakes.

From February 2012


Next, we ate supper- jambalaya made in the crock pot!! It was SO YUMMY! I tweaked it a bit by using my own spice blend (delish) and cooking the rice separately because I read several reviews that suggested doing that so the rice fully cooked. I have seen read a review that suggests using instant and sticking it in the crock pot near the end of the cooking time. I will try that next time because I had a lot of water left over.

From February 2012


Regardless, it was delicious and I think it might just be my favorite version of jambalaya so far. I will definitely be making this again!

After our yummy jambalaya, we enjoyed birthday cupcakes (a day early but, we will be going to a Super Bowl party tomorrow.)

From February 2012


Aren’t they fun?! I love them!!

On a funny note- look at how big the cupcakes were before they cooled and were iced…

From February 2012


Now look how big they are after they cooled…

From February 2012


The humidity caused my cupcakes to shrink! UGH! I guess now I need to learn how to bake in high humidity. They were still delicious though- just kind of miniature. πŸ™‚

That didn’t stop Sam from enjoying his cupcake though- he dove right in, eating the icing first!

From February 2012

πŸ™‚
Steph

