This past weekend, Sam and I went to Waveland to see my parents… and attend a Mardi Gras parade. I know I’ve mentioned before that NASA has a HUGE facility that takes up around half of the county my parents live in. Right now, civilians can still go out there and get a tour and then check out a visitors center with gift shop, cafe, and exhibits. However, they are nearing completion of a huge visitor’s center at the welcome center so they will be stopping civilian visits soon. Thankfully, my dad, Sam and I were able to get out there before they closed off Stennis. I have been wanting to take Sam out there but we never had the chance. Whew! So glad we were able to do it!

Sam was a bit excited about riding on a bus…

From February 2012


Please forgive the “I took these out of a tinted bus window” feel these next few pictures (rightly) have…

From February 2012


From February 2012


Just a few of NOAA’s weather buoys…

From February 2012


A rocket engine test site. The summer before we got married, I lived with my parents and we went to see one of them be tested. It was neat!

From February 2012


Below is a video I took during the tour of this area. Our driver was telling us just how big these test sites are. Check it out…

A siren they used to use to see if conditions were “favorable” to test engines…

From February 2012


F-1 rocket engine…

From February 2012


They are huge!

From February 2012


From February 2012


The Stennisphere… that is what they call their visitor’s center.

From February 2012


“NASA’s Family of Launch Vehicles”

From February 2012


My dad and Sam trying to land a space shuttle. Sam eventually crashed one so hard it went 41 feet into the earth. Oops!

From February 2012


From February 2012


He was in hog heaven with all of the neat gadgets!

From February 2012


Astronaut Sam!!

From February 2012


Sam’s arms weren’t quite long enough to play with this one…

From February 2012


I am not sure if I could handle using the bathroom in outer space…

From February 2012


They also had a naval exhibit and the orange suit on the left in this picture is just a bit on the creepy side to me.

From February 2012


Now, Captain Sam, is driving the boat!

From February 2012


Outside the bookstore and cafe is a really neat picture made entirely of previous NASA mission patches.

From February 2012


Closer look…

From February 2012


Sam had to try to land the shuttle again.

From February 2012


“Look, Dad! DOS!!!”

From February 2012


These shuttles were fun too!

From February 2012


The bus that took us back to our car…

From February 2012


It was a great little adventure. What we’ve been told is that everything in the current visitor’s center will be in the new one plus some more stuff. They used to have this red thing you could get strapped into and be spun around to experience zero gravity. My dad calls it the barf machine, or something similar. My mom and I rode it and we thought it was neat. I hope they bring it back!

🙂
Steph