On our trip this past weekend, we were also able to go to the Krewe of Nereids parade in Waveland. It is a big parade (to the people living in Hancock County) and is very exciting. It is also very tame compared to some of the crazier New Orleans parades and Nereids is no where near as crowded. This made for an excellent first parade for Sam.

Having lived in New Orleans through several Mardi Gras seasons, I do remember that people with signs usually scored big “throws.” So I made Sam a sign…

From February 2012

The parade was on Sunday, so we ate lunch and changed clothes at the house before heading down to the parade route. We actually got there about 20 minutes before the parade was scheduled to start but because we were about halfway through the parade, it took awhile for it to reach us. It was SOOOO cold. Sam was the only one who was comfy and that is because he was in his “yellow car” and I had the plastic windows rolled down so he wouldn’t feel the breeze. We had several people walk by and mention how jealous they were. HA!

From February 2012


Eventually, he wanted it open so he could be social and check things out better…

From February 2012


We had street vendors…

From February 2012


Some guy who was obviously not completely there in the head (I do believe I mentioned it was COLD)…

From February 2012


Sam and I were bundled up. I was also sporting my “Adopt Africa” shirt that my friends, Jeff and Alicia, are selling to help them raise the money needed to adopt children from Uganda. You should go to their blog, buy a shirt, and start praying for them. 🙂

From February 2012


Finally the parade started…

From February 2012


From February 2012


The men in the picture below are part of the Ole Biloxi Marching Club and they only give their flowers to ladies that kiss them. I was totally not interested in doing that- YUCK! However, one of the guys did come over and give Sam a flower since he had his sign. HA HA!

From February 2012


This year, the theme was DISCO…

From February 2012


My dad was the parade photographer. I am glad he got this picture. The girl in the middle was marching and then all of a sudden landed (on purpose) in a full split on the road! She hit hard- it was crazy/hilarious/odd. Several of the other younger girls followed suit but she was the only one who was successful in going all the way into the split position.

From February 2012


The nuns just cracked me up…

From February 2012


The Smurfs were cute too…

From February 2012


While this float was coming by, I looked down and Sam was crying. It was SO LOUD that I couldn’t hear him. 😦 I asked what happened and he told me he the “beads got me”. He had a little red spot on his cheek from where the beads whacked him. It was pitiful. It was at this point that he started losing interest and getting sleepy.

From February 2012


So he sat in my lap for a little while and I held the sign…

From February 2012


Beth, the lady on the far left of this float worked with my dad. He didn’t realize it was her float until she had already passed. Oh well, she had told him she would be looking out for “Boudreaux” (Sam’s name before we knew he was a he) but I guess she didn’t recognize us with our hats on.

From February 2012


This RV is funny. However, the lady in the window did give Sam a WH pin and a “round tuit” for a free waffle.

From February 2012


In between floats, Sam would pick up the beads that were laying on the ground and throw them into yellow car. As we caught stuff we just put it in yellow car. It was great. I was standing guard over the part that sticks out in the front so no one would trip over it. I irony is that I kept forgetting that is what I was doing and I would trip. HA!

From February 2012


At one point, Sam started chasing a feather. He finally caught it and after that, this lady would bring him any feather she “caught”- it was kinda funny. He would get so excited!! I don’t know how many feathers he brought back to my parents house but he had quite a collection.

From February 2012


The local high school boys soccer team won the state championship just a few weeks ago and that same school’s girls team were state runners up. They got to ride on a float.

From February 2012


Yes, Sam was officially tired at this moment. The lady on the float is actually handing my mom a bamboo spear for Sam- the sign worked again.

From February 2012


Before the parade appeared to be halfway over, we left. Sam was tired and I didn’t want it to get to the point of him not having fun and getting grumpy. He rode back to the truck in the yellow car but he had to ride in the “floorboard”- HA! (Buy a shirt!!)

From February 2012


I think what excited Sam more than the parade was that he got to ride in a booster seat in Dad Buddy’s F-250, Ol’ Blue. He was SOOOOO excited about this.

From February 2012


From February 2012


Mom and I followed so we could keep an eye on the yellow car and make sure it didn’t fly out of the back of the truck.

From February 2012


(Yes, that was the beach on the left) 🙂
Sam looked back at us as they were turning onto my parents’ street.

From February 2012


Then he started waving… he is such a camera-ham. 🙂

From February 2012


When we went to church that night, we drove down Hwy 90. This is the road the parade went down. It was filthy! In New Orleans, the last “floats” are the street sweepers and so they keep their bead trash fairly cleaned up. That is apparently not the case for Nereids. We left on Tuesday after this parade and there were still beads in the road. They were finally starting to clean it up though.

From February 2012


We were standing in the middle of this intersection. Our spot was fairly clean! The first portapotty I ever took Sam to can be seen in the “neutral ground” on the left side of the picture below.

From February 2012


Below is the video collage I made. It has scenes from before, during, and after the parade (eating his first Moon Pie)…

Even though he got hit in the head by some beads, he did ask later when he got to go to another “ga-bade” so I guess he enjoyed himself!

🙂
Steph

