Next week is Spring Break for Travis. We are staying in town. I am excited- we’ve always traveled whenever we’ve had long breaks and so a “staycation” is sounding VERY nice to me. Seeing as we are now living in a new place, I have been researching cheap/free things to do in the areas so we can do something different every morning.

During my research, I learned that LSU was originally founded in Pineville. Too cool!! It was also originally called the “Louisiana State Seminary of Learning and Military Academy. We are not “official” LSU fans- I cheered for them in the National Championship this past January. However, if they play Georgia, my loyalties lie with the Dawgs. Anyway, I like random history- the kind you don’t typically learn in school and so this was right down my alley. I decided that over Spring Break, we would find the historical marker marking the “LSU OLD SITE”- the actual building burnt down in 1869 and so there is only a few bricks forming a short wall left. We found the marker tonight! Here it is…

From April 2012


Read the sign, it is full of fun information. I am sure there is a snide comment for a Georgia Bulldog fan to make about the relocation to the school for the deaf, dumb, and blind. However, as a Louisiana resident, I will refrain. Just know that that tidbit did not pass by unnoticed. 🙂

The old site is now a fenced in walking trail. As you walk around, there are information stations. I took pictures of them to try to record all of the history. 🙂
Here is what they looked like…

From April 2012


Travis actually stood and read them. I took a picture so I could go back later and read. 🙂

From April 2012


It was quiet and peaceful.

From April 2012


The only part of the original wall that is still standing.

From April 2012


From April 2012


Now for the informational “podiums”…

From April 2012


This is the part of LSU’s history that I think is really cool. General Sherman (of the infamous, “March to the Sea” also known as the “Scorched Earth Policy” (if I am remembering my US History correctly)) was the first superintendent/president. This placard says that he resigned when the US Arsenal in Baton Rouge was seized. I read elsewhere online that he resigned when Louisiana seceded from the Union. Regardless, he left LSU so he could fight for the Union. He did send a request that the school not be damaged during the war. Apparently, that request was granted- the school burnt down years after the war ended due to a kitchen fire. Oops! After the war, Sherman gave the school two cannons used by the Confederacy at the battle of Fort Sumter in good ol’ South Carolina. Yay, for SC!!! 🙂

From April 2012


From April 2012


Useful timeline…

From April 2012


What a day in the life of a student was like…

From April 2012


Here is what the second paragraph says…
“Reveille was followed by an hour of study before breakfast at 7am. Dinner was served at noon and supper was held at 5pm. The time between meals was filled with recitations and drill. Study hours were held from 6 – 10 and all lights were out by 10pm.”

WOW! I am such a “lazy American”- that schedule would exhaust me. HA!

They had a neat frosted glass portrait of the original site. It was almost dark so my phone struggled to get a picture. However, here is one and it is followed by a closer one.

From April 2012


From April 2012


We saw several trees that have been struck by lightning. This is the most severely damaged one…

From April 2012


We found a sycamore tree. This led Sam to exclaim “Wacheus had to climb the sycamore tree!” and then he ran around in circles singing “wacheus was a behicle man a behicle man was he!” He was a bit excited about the tree discovery.

From April 2012


In the picture above, it looks like there are some low branches. However, those belong to another tree behind it. The branches for this sycamore tree were WAYYYYYYYY up above our heads. This led me to make the comment that Zaccheus must’ve been a REALLY good tree climber or else, he climbed a baby sycamore. Regardless, I thought it was cool to see a tree mentioned in the Bible. I don’t know what I would do if I ever went to the Holy Land. I would probably just walk around in some dumbfounded stupor the entire time. 🙂

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed your history lesson- I know I have. I wonder what else we will learn over Spring Break…

🙂
Steph

