There is a group called “Cenla Mommy and Me” that is sponsored by a local church, The Gathering Place, that meets every Monday morning for a chance to let the kiddos play and the mommy’s pray for said kiddos. I will be honest, when I first heard of this group, I did some research. The last thing I wanted to do was get “involved” in a cultish religious club. My research proved that it was a Christ-based church, and Southern Baptist to boot! WOO HOO! I was then reassured that it wasn’t crazy people when my friend from college, KB, that lives up here told me they were from her church. Score! You are probably laughing at me now but that is OK- I just like to have all my ducks in a row before I jump into something. 🙂

Anyway, the first time we’ve been able to go was this past Monday. They did a special Easter picture session at the beginning and one of the mommy’s took the pictures. I received mine via email this afternoon and I think they are cute. I do wish I had dressed Sam up but I didn’t want him wearing cutesy clothes at a park that I was unfamiliar with and therefore, I didn’t know if there was a place to change clothes between the photos and the playground. The lady who emailed me is named Roni but I don’t think she is the one who took the photos. Here are just a few that I was sent…

From April 2012


Sam LOVED this rabbit ears. Also, the water that you can see in the background is not supposed to be there. I was told that due to all of the rain a levee, my source thinks, broke and this is where the excess water was diverted to. We were at a lake though.

From April 2012


From April 2012


After the pictures, we ate lunch and played on the playground.

From April 2012


We also took a break to color cookies. One of the mommy’s found these at a local grocery store. Pretty cool, huh?!

From April 2012


Our playtime abruptly ended when the park ranger stopped by to tell us that we were under a severe thunderstorm warning and they we needed to seek protection in a building since it had the potential to produce hail. Therefore, Sam and I came home and took naps. 🙂

It was a lot of fun and we definitely plan on doing more with their group.

🙂
Steph

