I don’t know what you would call today- yesterday was Good Friday and tomorrow is Easter (Resurrection Sunday.) I guess that makes today Easter Saturday, in my book.

Anyway, we had a fun little family day. I am looking forward to this week- lots of fun little family days in a still fairly new town to us. It should be fun, relaxing, and mosquito-laden (ugh) but that is OK- I have homemade bug spray that works. I think I will post about it a bit later…

Back to today…

We started off with breakfast at Chick-Fil-A. We got milkshakes there one night this past week and saw “Mini Cow Hunt” advertised on their message board outside. It was this morning from 8 – 10 and since we like doing odd things and didn’t really know exactly what a mini cow hunt was, we decided to participate. When we got there, Sam took his little basket that he received at Parent’s Night Out last night and searched for eggs. The girl “in charge” would go into the playground (they hung black paper in the windows so you couldn’t see) and hide 5 eggs and a cow- thus the name… mini cow hunt. Sam was super excited and had a blast. Although, I think she thought Sam was older than what he is (common occurrence) because she hid those eggs HARD. I had trouble finding them. For example, she put a green egg on a shelf with a matching green background that was over Sam’s head. WOW! Anyway, he had fun and he found his eggs and cow. They also had a “find the gold egg win a bunny rabbit” contest going. Thankfully, she didn’t hide the bunny egg for Sam. However, while we were eating, she came by and asked if Sam could have a bunny. The turn out was SUPER LOW for this egg hunt (4 kids)and she still had to give the bunny away. Yes, it was a real bunny. Yes, I said NO. Travis was proud of me. πŸ™‚ Below is a collection of the pictures I took of the “event”…

From April 2012


Top left: Sam with the bunny. The girl who ended up taking it home (I don’t think her mom knew what she agreed to since she (the mom) asked us, after agreeing with her daughter, if the bunny was real- HA!)
Top right: Embarking on the egg hunt
Bottom left: Sliding down the slide with the last egg and the mini cow
Bottom right: His little collection.

Sam and his little cow have been almost inseparable today. He slept with it at nap time. He brought it with him to the TV room after nap time and then specifically asked for it again at bedtime. I think he likes his mini cow. I think I like his mini cow too- especially over a bunny.

After chick-fil-a, we drove by the zoo to see if it was crowded. Surprisingly it was not and so we stopped to visit. We had fun and just kind of roamed around checking out the animals. It was a semi-cool morning and so the animals were fairly active- YAY! Even the alligators and crocodiles- YAY YAY! I managed to get a video of the female american crocodile moving in the water. This is the one that our favorite zookeeper told us she thought was the meanest/most dangerous animal at the zoo. Check out the video…

While in the Louisiana area, we saw an adorable little screech owl. We had never seen him before. Look at this cuteness…

From April 2012


FINALLY, one of the river otters was out and about. Usually, they are in hiding somewhere.

From April 2012


From April 2012


Travis liked out this crane stood out against the green backdrop of the trees.

From April 2012


This picture makes it look like the alligators are playing a game of chase.

From April 2012


They weren’t and, at the time, neither were moving. However, shortly after I stopped taking pictures the one on the land moved further inland.
Then we went to look at something else, and noticed that one of the crocodiles was getting out of the water. I was up above him and so I thought I would take a picture once he got himself situated.

From April 2012


From above, he looks like he is just chilling out. However, when you get closer, he was actually doing this-

From April 2012


Note to self: don’t get too close when his mouth is open. He is probably not trying to catch flies. πŸ™‚

Then we had to go check on the baby wallaby. I never really had a good shot of the baby this time- he/she was in the pouch and didn’t poke its head out often. However, when we rode the obligatory train ride it takes you right by their fence and the mommy was sitting there looking at the train and so was the baby!! It was SOOO CUTE! It was the first time I had ever seen the baby that close without the aid of a picture. Unfortunately, my camera was packed so I couldn’t snap a picture fast enough. 😦 Oh well. This is the best shot I got- the baby is in the white pouch that is almost dragging the ground.

From April 2012


Another cool thing we got to see was a flamingo egg! It was actually in the water near the bridge we had to walk over. Check this out…

From April 2012


We also discovered a green iguana. I don’t know why we never noticed the iguanas by the bathrooms. HA!! There was also a gray one in the background but it was quite awkward trying to get this picture so I didn’t even try for one of the other.

From April 2012


Zookeeper Sam with “Aslan”

From April 2012


During nap time, Travis and I visited with an old friend from NOBTS, Jon, he was up visiting some other friends and family and decided he would drop by. So nice! I noticed how much my petunia has grown and so I took a picture…

From April 2012


Here is what it looked like when I originally brought it home only a couple of weeks ago…

From March 2012


Wow! What a difference- I joked with Travis that I could probably sit on our porch and watch the flower grow and bloom. It is QUICK! Tonight, I got a bigger pot for it so it can stretch its roots some. πŸ™‚ I think it will like its new home.

While we were on the porch talking with Jon, Sam woke up. He didn’t even bother to come look for us- he saw the neglected playstation controller and decided to play his daddy’s game, Skyrim. When I came in to check on him, here is where I found him.

From April 2012


Ha Ha!!

Well, that was all of our excitement for Easter Saturday. We are all looking forward to going to church tomorrow to worship God and thank Him for sending Jesus to pay for our sins. Praise God!

πŸ™‚
Steph

