Travis and I are currently at NOBTS for him to participate in some kind of research done by an external agency regarding NOBTS’ PhD department. That is all I understand about the program. 🙂

When we got here yesterday afternoon, we were headed to visit my old boss and heard a REALLY loud noise. As we walked across the parking lot, I looked up and saw a BEAUTIFUL blue plane with yellow tips on the wings and immediately recognized it as a Blue Angel! I was Christmas morning giddy. I’ve always wanted to see a performance of the Blue Angels. Well, the fly-overs kept up and so we attempted to take photos with our phones and I made a couple of videos. This is the best picture I was able to get with my phone.

From April 2012


Here are the videos I made…


I wish the microphone could convey just how LOUD they are. It is amazing! I was really expecting a sonic boom.

This afternoon, I was hanging out in the hotel room and I hear what sounded like one flying over the hotel. I then got a text from Travis telling me they were back. My regret from yesterday was that I didn’t get a chance to get pictures with my “good camera”- well, regret no more! My camera, phone, and myself be-bopped across Gentilly Blvd and I spent the next hour (?) shooting planes. HA! 🙂

Here are a few of my favs…

From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


Rest assured, I was on the side of the ‘Tilly Blvd when I took this- not IN the road. 🙂

From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


Here is the one video I took today…

They are performing an air show on Saturday and so they have been practicing yesterday and today. This entire week has been special in New Orleans as they are celebrating the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812. There are “Tall Ships” down on the Mississippi River and I am hoping to get down there tonight (with Travis, of course) and get some pictures. I think we will be too late to actually go on board but that is OK. This is definitely making what was going to be a “fairly boring” trip (for me) VERY exciting.

🙂
Steph

