NASA’s new visitor center opened last week. On Tuesday, my mom and I took Sam out to check it out. It looks like it will be really cool shortly. Honestly, I don’t think it is worth $8 for adults just yet- there were lots of “dead spaces” and a lot of the more interactive exhibits that were in the old visitor’s center aren’t there- mainly the flight simulator. They did have some new stuff so that was cool. I am just hoping they get more stuff for the kids to interact/manipulate. For a 3 year old, there wasn’t much there that didn’t require reading. 🙂 Regardless, we enjoyed it and will go back again. 🙂

Sam is creating perspective for how big this buoy is…

From April 2012


Rockets!

From April 2012


Our Astronauts!

From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


I totally just blanked on his name but, one of the astronauts on Apollo 13 is from Mississippi. They got him to do a short welcome video. Neat!

From April 2012


I like the space shuttle model. I also think it is really cool that we were at NASA on the day that the Space Shuttle Discovery, the last one to fly, was airlifted to Washington DC to become part of the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum. I DEFINITELY want to get back to DC and see it!

From April 2012


Look how big the tires on the landing gear of a space shuttle are!!

From April 2012


These are the tiles that fell off on the space shuttle Columbia’s explosion on Feb. 1, 2003. I don’t think I will ever forget that day (or the day the Challenger blew up) because I was down at the beach with my parents trying to watch it fly by as it landed in FL. Unfortunately, he exploded over TX. I did however, spot a piece of it fly through the sky- bittersweet yet cool at the same time. These tiles were made at the Michoud plant in New Orleans- on the same street at the Luzianne Tea factory and NOBTS!

From April 2012


A lovely (ha ha) view of a swamp and I-10…

From April 2012


The newest BIG exhibit was this walk through maze of how technology has advanced over the years. It starts all the way back with the Egyptians.

From April 2012


Rosetta Stone reproduction…

From April 2012


Close up of the hieroglyphs on the Rosetta Stone…

From April 2012


Sam was interested in his map…

From April 2012


and the totem pole…

From April 2012


and the clock…

From April 2012


but he REALLY liked the hourglass that could be rotated.

From April 2012


Their movie theater screen is a giant globe. I don’t know if the movies will change or not but currently, it is giving an overview of the planets and some of the moons. It is NEAT! Sam really enjoyed this too.

From April 2012


The entire line of NASA’s launch vehicles- with a scaled version of the Superdome in the background to help visualize just how BIG these things are.

From April 2012


A giant Lego Space Shuttle. In case you visit, please note that the legos aren’t glue down- don’t ask how I know that. 😦

From April 2012


Outside they had some other weather buoys and a couple of engines.

From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


This beautiful eagle greets visitors out near the parking lot.

From April 2012


From April 2012


From April 2012


We ended our visit with another bus tour of the actual facility.

From April 2012


One of the test facilities…

From April 2012


While on our tour, we saw wild boar. We actually yelled to our tour guide/ bus driver to stop so we could try to take pictures. Here is the picture I got…

From April 2012


I SIGNIFICANTLY cropped another photo so you can KINDA see that they were wild boars…

From April 2012


As soon as we left the main campus to head back to the visitors center, Sam conked out.

From April 2012


I made a couple of videos. The first is a clip of how the near movie theater works.

The next video is of Sam going through his first automatic spinning door. He really enjoyed it.

This last video is of Sam chasing a baby frog. These LITTLE guys were everywhere!

It was a neat trip and I really did enjoy it. I am just looking forward to them putting more exhibits in there in the future. 🙂

🙂
Steph

