The Friday that we were in New Orleans last week, Travis was in meetings from 7:30 am – 9:00 pm. Needless to say, I had a lot of hours to entertain myself in the big city of NOLA. I thought of TONS that I could do but, I really ran a couple of errands that morning, picked up lunch/supper for myself, and hung out in the hotel. It was VERY relaxing. I did take pictures throughout the day so I could blog about my activities. HA! 🙂

The first thing I did was go to the Aveda Institute and get my hair cut. This is an Aveda school so you get a “designer” haircut for $15-18. This was how we would always get our hair cut when we lived there. I love it! We have recently discovered that there is an hair styling school up here in Pineville so the next time I am due a haircut, I will try them out.

After Aveda, I walked across the street (side street- not a busy street) and picked up groceries that I have yet to find in Cenla- bulk foods and special gluten-free yummies. I took my time and enjoyed my leisurely stroll through Whole Foods- I spent almost 2 hours in there! HA! When I got back to the hotel, I took a picture of my “loot.”

From April 2012


In the top of the picture above: approximately 2 pounds each of dried beans (kidney, pinto, and black), rice (brown), and quinoa. In the bottom: the yummies- quinoa mac and cheese, hamburger buns, cereal, cinnamon rolls (we had them this morning- GAG!), and a butterscotch blondie. I figured I could splurge on some treats since none of these items can be found up where we live (except the quinoi mac and cheese- WF had it on sale so I grabbed the last two boxes they had.)

Then, I headed back towards the neighborhood where we lived just prior to Katrina, Old Metairie, to try another GF pizza joint- Naked Pizza. It is carry-out only so I ordered my medium pizza (the only size you can get as GF) and then went back to the hotel for a picnic. I ordered a ham, pineapple, and mushroom pizza. It was good- it wasn’t Mark Twain good though. This one did have a cardboard aftertaste. However, I don’t know when I will have another pizza I don’t have to make myself so I am not complaining. 🙂

From April 2012

As I was finishing up my lunch and organizing my WF loot, I heard the Blue Angels flying overhead so I ran across the street and took pictures. I have already blogged about that so if you just keep reading, you will come to that post. Once they stopped practicing, I went back to the hotel and started uploading pictures, attempted to bring the blog up-to-date, and watched some craft shows on TV- all at the same time. HA!

Supper time arrived, and I ate the other part of my pizza from lunch. Then I read some books on my Kindle and watched more TV while I waited on Travis to get back in. FINALLY, he arrived and we headed downstairs to go with the group down to the French Quarter to eat at Cafe Du Monde. The two guys leading the study Travis was participating in had never been. WOO HOO! Free trip to the quarter! I was excited.

From April 2012


Our table… (sadly, beignets aren’t gluten-free… however, it is getting easier and easier to not feel remorse over not being able to eat former favorite foods)

From April 2012


As mentioned in my post about the Blue Angels, it was Navy Week in NOLA. As we were leaving, we took the “long way” back to the car and got as close as we could to the Naval Destroyer that was docked. In the daytime, civilians could board but not at night.

From April 2012


When we got back to the hotel, we just relaxed and went to bed. We had a fun “date” planned for the next day- a visit to an alligator ranch!

🙂
Steph

