This morning, Travis had to participate in LC graduation. Yesterday and through the EARLY morning hours, it has been raining and so Sam and I’ve been cooped up inside. Well, after a family breakfast at Harlows, Sam and I drop Travis off for graduation and we head to the zoo. We got there almost when they opened and were the first people into the zoo. It was SOOO quiet. I didn’t take my “good” camera and so the few pictures I took are not the greatest quality. However, I mainly want to share about the Andean Condor. Apparently, it is “courting” time- that is the only reason I can think the the male condor would spread his wings, make a funny sound, and walk around in a circle near the female. I took a picture but you can’t really see anything in it so I made a video- even better!

In response, the King Vulture on the other side of the walkway decided to spread his wings too!

From May 2012


While there, we were able to see the baby wallaby jumping around outside of its mommy’s pouch! That was a first for us! It was very cute!

From May 2012


From May 2012


I also made a video of the wallaby. 🙂

When we got to Africa, one of the porcupines was ALMOST out of the log. Usually they are so far in that you just see their quills. Not today!

From May 2012


We also learned that peacocks nest/sleep up in trees during the night. Since we arrived when the zoo opened, we were able to see this since they hadn’t come down yet. It was neat.

From May 2012


Apparently, Swiper decided to spend the night on top of his house! Ha!

From May 2012

After checking on our zoo friends, we headed to downtown Alexandria for their annual Dragon Boat races.

From May 2012


I remember seeing the ones in Knoxville on TV when we lived in TN but had never seen them in person. Obviously, Sam has never seen them at all. I thought this would be a fun treat. He enjoyed it so much that if he hadn’t been super hungry and I had no cash on me, I don’t think I could’ve convinced him to leave. They actually started the races at 7am but we didn’t get their until closer to 11. They were still racing when we left sometime between noon and 1, too.

I placed Sam on top of one of the walkways so he could sit and see everything. I decided to take a picture of me and my little buddy.

From May 2012

Our first race we got to watch…

From May 2012


This is the video I made of the first race we watched.

Later on, we migrated down closer to the river and stood on the rocks that form the bank. We had a much better view here.

From May 2012


While we were down there, I made another video. Sorry for the shakiness during the video, Sam found fire ants and I was removing them from his feet. 🙂

It was a fun morning. After a yummy lunch, Sam took a REALLY long nap while I waited on Travis to get home.
🙂
Steph

