From May 2012


Travis didn’t have to work Memorial Day. Therefore, we decided to take a spontaneous day trip to a nearby town that I’ve been wanting to visit. I keep hearing about their amazing Christmas lights and festivities and so I definitely want to go back for that but, I thought it would still be fun as a day trip in warm weather. We traveled a little over an hour away to a town called Natchitoches (pronounced Nak A Dish… and then I still might be slightly screwing that up…)

They have a cute downtown area that is right on a river.

From May 2012


There are soon-to-be-completed apartments on the right side of the picture above. They are above a store/mall type thing. If I could figure out how to work it into the budget, I would TOTALLY try to live there. 🙂

There was a cute park on the river…

From May 2012


From May 2012


From May 2012


From May 2012


We played around near the waterfall for a little bit…

From May 2012


From May 2012


From May 2012


We let Sam take our picture with the “good” camera…

From May 2012


From May 2012


He has the photography “rule of thirds” figured out- now we just have to work on focusing. 🙂

I did manage to get him to smile a little when we were closer to the river. I like this picture.

From May 2012


I played with some camera settings on the picture below. I think I like how it turned out…

From May 2012

When we were done playing with the waterfall, it was time for lunch. At the top of the stairs was a restaurant called “Antoon’s Riverfront Restaurant”. We thought it was a nice expensive place but they advertised that you didn’t have to dress up to eat there. It also appeared to be a local joint and not a chain- two big things we look for when traveling. So, we decided to dine at Antoon’s.

From May 2012


Sam had a kid’s meal and it was fairly uneventful. Travis had a bayou burger that had shrimp on it. It definitely looked delicious!

From May 2012


I had one of the most amazing salads I have ever had in my life. It had grilled chicken and seasonal fruit all over it. YUMMY!

From May 2012


We arrived at Antoon’s shortly after they opened for lunch. When I told our waitress that I needed an unseasoned chicken breast she had to check to see if any plain chicken breasts were thawed yet. Thankfully, they had one and it wound up on my salad. The dressing was a homemade raspberry vinaigrette and I LOVED IT (I don’t like raspberries, either!)

After lunch we walked around town checking out buildings and churches. Natchtoches is famous for their “meat pies”. I think it is like a pop-tart stuffed with meat. I don’t know- I can’t eat them. I also have no desire after Travis forced me to watch Sweeney Todd a couple of years ago. If you don’t know what I am talking about- try to find a synopsis online to read. DO NOT watch the movie- unless you like gore and really great music or you want to see Johnny Depp in an amazing role.

We passed this restaurant- this isn’t the “big” meat pie maker in Natchitoches but it was the one closest to us.

From May 2012

In true Louisiana form, we passed a LARGE Catholic church. I had my fixed lens on my camera so my “zoom” consisted of me crossing the street and trying to get as far away as I could in order to get the church in my camera frame. This is the best I got with my “good” camera.

From May 2012


So I broke it into other pictures to try to get the whole thing.

From May 2012


To give you some perspective, here is a picture of Sam and Travis standing by the church.

From May 2012


Later, as we were leaving, Travis kindly stopped and let me get out and take a picture with my phone so I could get the entire thing in one picture.

From May 2012


It is beautiful.

Just down the street was First Baptist. Travis REALLY liked the steps leading to the sanctuary. I really liked how beautiful, yet non-traditional it looked.

From May 2012

I love taking pictures of churches. One day, I would like to go around taking pictures of some of the beautiful churches in LA and frame them.

After we walked down Church St., we then wandered back to the main street and went in a couple of shops before heading home.

From May 2012


From May 2012


An alley to nowhere with a historical marker telling about the Natchitoches Indians.

From May 2012


I really liked the benches along the sidewalk. They had fleur-di-lis at the top and then names of people (I am assuming it is the people who paid for the benches?) along the bottom. Too cute!

From May 2012


From May 2012

We enjoyed our day trip to Natchitoches. I can’t wait to go back at Christmastime and see it all lit up and living up to its moniker “the City of Lights” 🙂

🙂
Steph

