After spending the night at my Aunt and Uncle’s, we got up and took a trip to the Atlanta Zoo. We were very excited. It was definitely weird to discover that this zoo is basically in downtown Atlanta. I can’t figure out how we managed to live there for 6 months post-Katrina and not find it. Regardless, we found it this time and enjoyed ourselves.

I think we are turning into zoo snobs though. It was a nice zoo but we like ours better. The Atlanta Zoo felt VERY cramped and since it was ridiculously crowded that didn’t help either. The Memphis Zoo was super spaced out and so the crowds weren’t bad since there were places for them to go. I felt like we were in the midst of a herd of migrating people while we were there. Sam did enjoy it though so that is what matters most.

I will start with the gross pictures- sorry! I took these with my phone. Travis was in charge of the “good camera” and so I will post those shots in just a second. The zoo had a reptile/amphibian house and in it were a few snakes I had never seen. One of them was a boa constrictor. I know this is really disturbing and maybe I’ve watched too many Harry Potter movies but, I think the boa has a beautiful shaped head. It just looks majestic to me. Yes, apparently I am weird. However, please be comforted in knowing that I would NEVER pet/touch/own any snake and the only way I like them is behind glass at a zoo. I don’t like to see them dead out in “the real world” because that just reminds me they live there, too. That thought creeps me out. Anyway, check out its pretty head. πŸ™‚

From June 2012


The last snake picture is of a green anaconda. That is the same kind that we have at our zoo. This one was big but no where near the size of ours. I think ours could eat this one as a snack. Because of our snakes set up though, it is VERY difficult to get a good picture of him. So, just imagine one twice as big as this one and that is what we see on an almost weekly basis. Then, just praise God that it is behind thick glass. πŸ™‚

From June 2012


This iguana was fascinated with Sam. It was cracking me up. As Sam ran around like a 3 year old boy, the iguana was following him the entire time. Hilarious! When I took this picture he was still staring at Sam.

From June 2012


The also had a “make mole rat” exhibit. To get in and out, there was a tunnel for kids to climb though. There was also a playground outside. Sam played on the playground for a bit before checking out the mole rats inside the building.

From June 2012


Here are naked mole rat babies…

From June 2012


Their teeth gross me out. πŸ™‚

We also rode their zoo train. It was a nice way to relax and cool off a bit since the motion created a slight breeze.

From June 2012

Now onto the pictures Travis took… πŸ™‚
Yay, elephants!! I really like elephants but our zoo is a bit too small to have any right now. I am definitely hoping they are part of the plans for the African expansion that will be built shortly though. πŸ™‚

From June 2012


I don’t know if I’ve even seen a rhino standing up. Usually they are lying down. This guy/girl is HUGE!

From June 2012


The cutest lion at the zoo…

From June 2012


Sam resting with the gorilla.

From June 2012


There was a fairly young baby gorilla in the gorilla exhibit. You see it standing up on the right side of the picture below.

From June 2012


Now it is walking on all fours kind of in the middle…

From June 2012


It was cute and very small.

The red panda was just chilling on top of a little house. The branches and leaves were quite thick so it was hard to get a clear shot. However, I think this one does a great job of showing its cute fluffy face.

From June 2012


This giant panda was acting goofy…

From June 2012


After lunch, Sam went to the children’s zoo area and petted some sheep and goats.

From June 2012


When he was done, he promptly washed his hands with soap and water!

From June 2012


Then we rode the train before walking/hiking back to our car. Can you tell that Sam is a bit hot and a bit tired? πŸ™‚

From June 2012


On the way back to my Aunt’s, I snapped a picture of the Georgia Capitol. It is really pretty and I like the gold dome.

From June 2012


Here are the two videos I made while at the zoo.


Sam slept the entire way home. We dropped him off to rest a bit more with my Aunt while Travis and I toured Chateau Elan. It is a winery located near their house. My grandparents took me on a tour of it when I was in middle school but Travis had never been. The self-guided tour is free and doesn’t come with any samplings. You can also take a guided tour, which is not free, that comes with some samples afterwards. We went the self- guided route. πŸ™‚
The self-guided tour consisted of watching a video about the winery and property (resort, conference center, restaurants, golf course, etc.) and reading various signs about the wine making process. They were similar to the one below.

From June 2012


We were also able to look around and take pictures. πŸ™‚
This thing is huge- I don’t remember what it was for. I was on the balcony when I took this picture.

From June 2012


This is a not so zoomed in shot so you can see the men working nearby to give you a sense of scale.

From June 2012


They still age in oak barrels.

From June 2012


A really BIG barrel…

From June 2012


The suit of armor cracked me up!

From June 2012


The tour concludes by spitting you back out into the gift shop. We did buy a Christmas ornament. πŸ™‚

From June 2012


This is my picture of the winery and restaurant with the fountain out front. Isn’t it beautiful? You can see this building from I-85 just in case you ever noticed it and didn’t know what it was. πŸ™‚

From June 2012


It was a full day of touring things but we definitely enjoyed it!

πŸ™‚
Steph

