We went to the zoo this past Saturday. It was nice- not too hot and not too crowded. It would’ve been perfect if I could’ve used the words “not too humid” but, alas, we live in Louisiana and being able to use those words is a true rarity. Regardless, we enjoyed it and had fun.

They have closed off a huge chunk of the zoo right now for the “Land of the Jaguar” renovation and so animals have been shuffled around and routes through the zoo have been re-routed. The first animals we actually stopped and looked at were the colobus monkeys. We usually just kind of glance at these as we quickly walk past. We are also usually holding our breath. These monkeys stink! Well, Saturday, a zookeeper was there cleaning the cage and he shared with us that they had a 3 week old baby and that the momma actually had it out in the open and was nursing it. The colobus monkeys are normally black but when they are born they are white. I THINK he said that this baby won’t turn black until shortly after its first birthday. It is SO cute and little. I just had my phone with me so my camera zoom isn’t too great. If I can remember, I will try to take the “good camera” soon and try to get a clearer picture. Until then, here is what I got…

From July 2012


(the baby is the white shape in front of the monkey on the right in the picture above)

One of the peahens (that is what Travis has informed is the technical name of a female peacock) has recently hatched a baby. The last two times we’ve gone we’ve seen them roaming around together. Saturday, they were drinking out of a bird bath in the children’s memorial garden.

From July 2012


I tried to zoom in…

From July 2012


Sam had to take his Jeep out for a drive. In this picture, he was consulting his GPS (that is what he called his map)…

From July 2012


While we were in Africa, Gunther (the male lion) did his roaring thing that he does. This time, Talluca (the female) also responded. We’ve never heard her do it. I have it on video so I will post it in just a moment. Until then, here is another picture of Gunther…

From July 2012


A couple of months ago, May I think, we saw a cute little screech owl at the zoo. Well, we only saw it that one time- until this time. Travis spotted it while Sam and I were checking at rattlesnakes. We have decided that this is not the same screech owl though because this one seems a bit taller and skinnier that our little short fat one we wanted to stuff in our pocket and bring home with us. The screen owl is the smaller of the two- the other one is just a common barn owl. I love that we are learning and using their “technical names” and not just calling them big owl and little owl.

From July 2012


Travis thought I needed to take a picture of the renovation work for the “Land of the Jaguar” exhibit. So, here it is…

From July 2012


Here is the video compilation from this trip…

We love our zoo!

🙂
Steph

