I think the title probably should be “this week in pictures” because that will be the bulk of this update.

I am still trying to plan my menu around “theme” nights. Most of the time I succeed but, I do allow myself to veer off if I need to because of grocery sales, our budget, night activities, etc. Mondays are “meatless Mondays” and so I try to serve a meatless meal- this is definitely helping the grocery budget and forcing me to be creative since I tend to cook a meat for every dinner. I really enjoy Monday meals though. When Travis and I went to Montreal in 2010, we discovered “THE DISH” Montreal is known for- poutine. We even ate at a restaurant that ONLY SERVES poutine. It is delicious but it is a heart attack in the making (probably why it is so yummy.) Poutine (in Montreal) is french fries topped with gravy and cheese curds. I didn’t realize I had celiac then so I ate it several times and determined that the gravy is what “made” the dish. Well, I came home and started looking for recipes. I found a few but never had the courage to try them since I didn’t want to be disappointed if they didn’t taste like I remembered. A little over a year later, I found out about the celiac and that threw my recipes I had found out the window- they all contained glutenous ingredients. Well, earlier this year I actually came across a blog post about making GF Poutine. I was super excited. Since I know that if I ever get back to Montreal the likelihood of me finding GF poutine is slim, I have now decided I MUST learn to make my own. I got from fries, and the ingredients for the gravy, and then realized that I don’t think I can find cheese curds in central Louisiana- we aren’t quite Wisconsin here. 🙂 So I “googled” and determined that mozzarella cheese is a good substitute. Travis and I agreed that these tasted like the ones in Montreal- only I didn’t get sick afterwards! WOO HOO!! They were yummy but, I’ve been told I need to rarely make these- they ARE a heart attack in the making. The reason the gravy is so weird/good, is that it is actually a mixture of chicken broth AND beef broth! Ahh!! Now I know why I couldn’t ever figure it out in Montreal. Anyway, we liked them and it was definitely a departure from a normal supper and Sam wasn’t too keen on having just fries for supper though- HA! The only thing that would have made it even better is if I could’ve gotten my hands on some cheese curds- then we would’ve had “squeaky cheese.”

From July 2012

On Tuesday, Sam was playing while I was cooking supper and when I came into the “computer room”, I discovered a road block!

From July 2012


We also went to Target Tuesday morning and I checked the clearance clothes in the big boy section (yup, no more shopping in the toddler section for our THREE YEAR OLD! He is officially in size 6 clothes…sniff) and found a long sleeve button up shirt. Sam really liked it because it looked like his daddy’s and had a pocket for his phone. HA HA!

From July 2012


Then when Travis got home, I snapped a picture of my guys in their matching outfits.

From July 2012

Wednesday morning, Sam was watching Dinosaur Train and got VERY excited when his favorite dinosaur made an appearance- “King” Cryalophosaurus. He looks/sounds like Elvis, thus why Sam likes him. 🙂

From July 2012


When we were at the Southern Baptist Convention last month, Travis and I had our picture taken by a church directory company. We were told we would be receiving a free 8×10 in the mail of our picture. Well, it finally arrived, the entire thing is an 8×10- however, the picture is probably a 5×7. Oh well… we do have the option to order more prints but they are usually expensive so I doubt we will do it. I do like the picture though.

From July 2012

This morning, Sam and I went to the splash pad. Sam ALWAYS finds someone to play with (the blessings of an extroverted child) and it is usually a girl. He is obsessed with girls. Today, he actually ran around holding this girl’s hand. They were sooo cute! They played together for over an hour and a half!!

From July 2012

Well, that has been our week so far. We are now getting ready for our weekend- tomorrow the three of us are going to tour an alligator farm. I am SO excited!

🙂
Steph

