Immediately after breakfast, Papa, my mom, Sam and I head down to the lake to go fishing. Papa wanted to take Sam fishing so bad but we had to do it before it got hot since he has trouble breathing in the heat, and besides, who wants to fish from the bank when it is blazing hot outside? Not me! Papa has taken and taught all of the grands and greats how to fish but Sam hasn’t really been old enough or shown any interest until now. I still think he was more interested in the worms though. πŸ™‚
Papa baiting Sam’s hook…

From August 2012


See? Sam was very interested in the worms. πŸ™‚

From August 2012


Finally fishing…

From August 2012


My mom also helped him fish while I took pictures…

From August 2012


Sam’s worm started getting little bites and so we had to teach Sam how to reel in the line.

From August 2012


However, he only “caught” algae and gunk this time…

From August 2012


So we try again…

From August 2012


Another little bite…

From August 2012


His worm was gone by the time he got his line reeled in so he needed a new worm. He was so excited to pick his own worm from the container.

From August 2012


Then nature called…

From August 2012


Somehow, I ended up with his rod and so I fished for a bit. I managed to hook the fish that had been stealing Sam’s worm and once I made sure it wouldn’t fall off the hook, I called Sam over to reel it in. Check out the “big” fish he caught. HA!

From August 2012


From August 2012


From August 2012


Papa then put Sam’s fish on a hook and tried to use him to catch a bigger fish but was not successful. Oh well…

By this time, it was getting quite toasty down at the lake so we headed back up to the house. Sam discovered that Papa’s truck has a back seat and so he insisted on riding back there. Of course, Papa let him. πŸ™‚

From August 2012

Once we got back to the house, Mom, Sam and I went to Lancaster to run a couple of errands. Since my parents are living 2 months at the time in SC right now to take care of my other grandma, Mama, my mom had to pay car/homeowners insurance while we were there. Once our errands were finished, we enjoyed lunch at Chick-Fil-A. On the way out, Sam decided to be a gentleman and carry my purse out for me. πŸ™‚

From August 2012


We just mainly hung out at the house the rest of the day.

The next day, I sewed a camera strap cover for my camera. I saw this idea on Pinterest and thought that it would be easy enough for me to try. However, I wanted to make sure to do it at Grandmama’s in case I ran into any problems. I only had a few minor issues and she quickly showed me how to fix them. YAY! Here is the completed cover…

From August 2012


I am hoping that this will help cut down on the nastiness I feel when I wear my camera and sweat in the hot Louisiana summers. So far, it is at least more comfortable since there is some padding on the strap now.

That night, we went to my great Aunt’s old store for a “singing.” Aunt Ruby’s family and friends get together every Thursday night to sing old songs and hymns. My Aunt is a really gifted mandolin player and she has some other friends and family that play the piano, guitars, and violins. I have been before to drop something off or say hey to someone but never to stay for any length of time. This time we stayed the entire night and it was fun.

From August 2012


From August 2012


They celebrate birthdays once a month and the night we went was their birthday celebration night. Sam definitely enjoyed his ice cream.

From August 2012


Sam and his Mum Jubie…

From August 2012


One of the ladies in front of us heard Sam say that he wanted to go sing a song. So, when it was her turn (you sign up on a sheet beforehand so there is some order to things) she took him up with her and let him sing. He sung “Mary Had a Little Lamb” SO FAST that my mom ended up with a blurry picture and I made a short video. Regardless, this was his first venture into solo singing and he did very well.

From August 2012


You might need to turn the volume up to hear him. I managed to only get the end of his song. 😦

Sam took control of my camera and snapped a few pictures before we left for the night…

From August 2012


From August 2012


It was definitely a fun night!

πŸ™‚
Steph