Travis had a big report due for SACS so we decided it would be most beneficial if Sam and I road tripped to SC and NC to visit family for a little bit. I was a bit scared at first because the farthest I’ve ever driven by myself with Sam was about 4 hours. However, I had nothing to worry about- Sam is a ridiculously great traveler and it ended up being very fun! I strategically packed the car so that he had gobs of entertainment within his reach and stressed the importance of not dropping anything down into the floor because I wouldn’t be able to fetch until our next stop. Our trip was broken up into 2 days. The first day, we drove from Pineville to Pell City, Alabama and spent the night. Then we got up, ate breakfast, and headed to Kershaw, SC to visit my grandparents. We ate in the car and stopped for bathroom breaks. In total, I think our stops only added about 1.5 hours to the total (14+ish hour) trip. WOO HOO! Go us!

This was Sam as we were just getting started. He is playing his PaperJamz guitar that I put 2 Elvis songs (“Burning Love” and ย “The Wonder of You”) and a Getty’s song (“Hear the Call of the Kingdom”) on for him to play along with. By the time we reached SC, we needed new batteries, he played that thing constantly. I loved it! It helped keep me awake. HA!

From August 2012


That first night, we spent the night at a Hampton Inn. After walking to the Cracker Barrel next door, we crossed the not-at-all busy street and went to Wal-Mart to pick up some in-room entertainment. We had plans to swim but there was a storm brewing so we ditched that idea and went for hotel bowling instead. The picture below is a collage I posted on Instagram that night. The bridge you see if the MS River Bridge in Natchez, MS. Then there is the U. of Alabama sign which is followed by the hotel bowling. The bottom picture is where we stayed.

From August 2012


The funny story from that night is that Sam locked us out of our bathroom! He pushed the lock and then shut the door as he walked out. When I called down to the lobby, the lady almost panicked because she thought Sam had locked himself in the bathroom. HA! Once I convinced her that he was sitting beside me, she calmed down and told me she would call the hotel locksmith. She also offered to order us a pizza since she thought we hadn’t had supper (it was after 9pm, yes we had eaten.) The locksmith FINALLY arrived around 10 and quickly unlocked the bathroom. Apparently, all I needed to do was stick a quarter in the indention on the outside of the lock and turn and the door would’ve opened. Oops! Well, at least I know this for the next time something crazy like this happens. ๐Ÿ™‚

Miraculously, I woke up before Sam the next morning. I got ready and he woke up sometime while I was in the shower and so he turned the TV to PBS and stayed in the bed. We had discussed this the night before and I was SOOO thankful he remembered and obeyed. ๐Ÿ™‚ I made another collage picture of our journey that day. Sam is blurry since I took the picture with my phone and didn’t want to turn the light on. The song selection is from the Broadway XM station and is from a musical that, for some unknown reason, Travis enjoys. Weird… The next picture is the Talladega Speedway. Sam was quite impressed at the number of flags there but, sadly, they didn’t make my picture. The bottom pic is of the bridge over the Savannah River as you cross from GA into SC. We crept through that area and that was the only traffic we had to deal with- even Atlanta was a breeze!

From August 2012

When we arrived in Kershaw, my grandma gave Sam a post-it note with a feather attached to it. She enjoys collecting/cleaning/identifying feathers and giving them to Sam. It is no uncommon for him to receive mail from Grandmama with a little note and feather tucked inside. This particular feather is one of the coolest ones so far. It is a hummingbird feather and the only reason she saw it was because it was stuck to one of her hummingbird feeders. Remember, this is all written on a post-it note. You can also make out part of my thumb on the left which helps to see just how SMALL this feather is. SOOOOO COOL!

From August 2012

After supper, we headed up to the “big house” (where my great grandparents lived) so that Sam and Papa could pick figs. They have a massive fig tree and so they collect and can the figs as they ripen. Sam’s job was to hold the bucket. Papa stuck his arms in the bush since the sap and leaves and things tend to itch real bad.

From August 2012


Then Papa showed Sam the inside of his barn. Sam thought it was cool but he was MUCH more interested in the lock for the door. HA!!

From August 2012

I am very thankful that God kept us safe as we traveled and that our two days of traveling were virtually non-eventful.

๐Ÿ™‚
Steph

