One morning, Dad, Sam, and I went to the Greenville Zoo. Our zoo membership here in Pineville got Sam and I in for free and my dad qualifies for the senior citizen rate so it was a super cheap outing. πŸ™‚
The first thing we did was chose which animal we wanted to “help” by feeding a token into a display. Sam picked our animal- Philippine Crocodile… I guess he thought it was a LA Alligator.

From August 2012


Please notice my dad in the background- I get my camera in the face “thing” honestly… like father like daughter. πŸ™‚

Our next stop was the elephants. Our zoo doesn’t have elephants. They are supposed to be expanding the Africa part of our zoo so I am hoping that whenever they do it we will get some! I love elephants.

From August 2012


This monkey just made me laugh- half sitting and half hanging onto the side of the cage.

From August 2012


I love this one’s eyes…

From August 2012


Then we walked through an area that had various reptiles and amphibians… (just a note- none of these will EVER live in our house)

From August 2012


From August 2012


From August 2012


From August 2012


Once outside, Sam found a zoo jeep. Granted, this one isn’t a real one like ours. Regardless, he immediately climbed in and started playing.

From August 2012


Then Sam found the mister!

From August 2012


I found a lion!

From August 2012


Sam found a lion and decided to stick his head in its mouth!

From August 2012


Good grief! He is only 3 and already looks HUGE on these ride-on animals.

From August 2012


While he played on the playground, I went back to the giraffes (we had just passed them) and took some pictures- one of them is pregnant and her baby is due sometime this summer.

From August 2012


From August 2012


I hope whenever our zoo’s Africa expansion comes that we get some giraffes too! That would be fantastic!
Here.. Kitty Kitty Kitty…

From August 2012


“Just follow your nose!”- Toucan Sam

From August 2012


Sam liked the bear he could ride.

From August 2012


I think he was getting tired of pictures though. The ones with us were not super great.

From August 2012


From August 2012


Hey! We have alligators in Oh-woo-si-anna!!

From August 2012


Baby ducks always remind me of Chip and Grady, my baby mallards I got after graduating college.

From August 2012


They had an area where you could feed animals. This goat did not appear to be interested in eating. πŸ™‚

From August 2012


The pig was though!

From August 2012


On our way out, the elephants decided to show us their best side…

From August 2012


It was a neat zoo and I feel confident we will be back.

πŸ™‚
Steph