I love New Orleans-based company, Kalencom’s, diaper bags. However, I do NOT love their price tag- $80ish. So, a few weeks ago, a friend informed me that they were on sale on Zulily.com and I used that as an opportunity to pick one up at a huge discount. I paid $27!!! WOO HOO!! Well, it arrived yesterday but, since I wasn’t home when the mailman arrived, I had to go to the post office yesterday morning to pick it up. I couldn’t even wait to get out of the parking lot before I took a picture of Gabrielle’s diaper bag.

From January 2013


They have beautiful prints but I chose a print that I liked and that Travis wouldn’t mind toting around out in public when he goes somewhere with Gabrielle. Plus, the stripes remind me of the children’s song, Jesus Loves the Little Children, because the colors are “red and yellow, black and white.” I like how big it is- it will definitely come in handy when the cloth diapers get put in there.

Then, this morning, the stroller arrived!! I can’t even begin to estimate how many hours of research I put into choosing our stroller. Some of the things I was looking for were: ability to not take up my entire trunk, ability for the seat to fold flat because we won’t have an infant carrier and will be using this from day one, easy to fold/set up, handles that are tall enough for Travis and I so we aren’t hunched over, and quality- we don’t want her to outgrow it or break it and we have to buy another one. So, we FINALLY decided on the MacLaren Techno XLR. I bought it on Amazon so I could utilize their free shipping and it was still almost $300! Yikes! That was the hardest part for me. However, this is the LAST stroller we will ever buy because she can ride in it up to 65 pounds. Considering that Sam weighs around 55-60 now, this stroller will at least get her through until she will just walk every where. Here is the stroller collapsed in the trunk. I still have half my trunk available. Score!

From January 2013


Some other nice features… the seat pad is completely removable, reversible, and washable. It comes with a rain cover that will cover all the way to the foot rest (which is important in rainy LA.) It also comes with a removable foot muff (MacLaren is a British company) that snaps on to keep her warm in the winter (which is important for Christmas travels.) The top can be unzipped to provide additional sun protection as well (which is important for living in the South.) It is amazingly light and easy to steer!

To “test” drive the stroller, Sam and I went to the zoo and he rode around in the stroller. He loved it! I loved that it did not at all feel like I was pushing an almost 60 pound 4 year old.

From January 2013

While we were at the zoo, we also managed to see some new animals! We get excited when we find new animals…

From January 2013


a beaver!!!!

šŸ™‚
Steph

