Other than going to Natchitoches, my birthday was fairly low-key. That is because my “cake” was actually in Mississippi! A gluten free bakery, The Peacebaker, recently opened in Metairie and they make King Cakes! Since my birthday always falls during Mardi Gras, I love having King Cake as my birthday cake. Before celiac, it was easy to find my birthday cake- I either made one via an AWESOME bread machine recipe, mail ordered one, or picked one up. However, finding a gluten free King Cake has been a bit difficult- until now.

Check out my birthday cake!

From February 2013


From February 2013


From February 2013


It was amazingly moist and delicious. The really awesome thing is that the bakery recommends NOT refrigerating it because it has a long shelf life due to their flour blend. This meant, I never had to deal with nuking cake and could just slice little pieces whenever. I will DEFINITELY get another cake from them again. Travis even liked it and he is NOT a fan of King Cakes. It is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!

🙂
Steph

