Gabrielle Elizabeth Wright
8 lbs 2 oz
21 inches
PERFECT!

From April 2013

Her birth story…
We got to the hospital shortly after 5am (random aside… the street lights flash on Jackson St that early in the morning) and got situated in our room. Unlike Sam’s birth, these rooms are labor-delivery-postpartum rooms. Therefore, I never leave this room. Nice!

Since I was induced, they started the IV around 6 and contractions got started. A little after 8am, Dr. Gates came in and checked me and saw that the meds were working so he broke my water. I dreaded this because I remember this was when the contractions got SUPER painful with Sam. However, they still weren’t bad this time around. I REALLY wanted to not use drugs but fear of everything I went through during delivery with Sam caused me to eventually get an epidural… at 10:30. I was dilated to a 7 by this point. I still could’ve waited but I didn’t want to make it to the “point of no return”- HA HA! That epidural was CRAZY… the drug combo was different than with Sam and I felt like I had ants crawling all over me. I cannot figure out how people can be addicted to pain meds if that is what it feels like. Yikes!

The nurse checked me about 45 minutes after the epidural and said that she was going to page Dr. Gates because she thought Gabrielle would be born soon. Thankfully, Dr. G’s office is on the 2nd floor on the same building we were in and he came up quickly. He also checked me and agreed with the nurse and things got exciting. The bottom of the bed was removed (SO CRAZY- that didn’t happen with Sam) and my epidural was tapered off. I still couldn’t “feel” anything but I really think it helped with pushing. I pushed TWO TIMES and out came a beautiful little girl who looked AMAZINGLY like her big brother. Dr. Gates plopped her immediately on my belly and the nursed cleaned her off while I stared/talked to her. That is when Travis took the picture above. My first comment to her was “you look just like Sam” and she really does. Right down to the blue dot between the eyes.

From April 2013

However, unlike Sam, she immediately started screaming and SHE IS LOUD! She sounds like a pterodactyl (solely based on “Dinosaur Train” on PBS) and it is kind of funny. She was weighed and then given back to me to nurse. While she was nursing, the pain meds started really affecting me and I started throwing up. At one point, I was holding Gabrielle and nursing her while a nurse was holding a bed pan for me to throw up in. HA! Thankfully, they were able to give me something to stop the nausea but it also knocked me out- for 2 hours!

From April 2013

A faculty member and his wife came by to visit. Sam and my parents came. Sam got a tour of the nursery area and got a lesson on how to help take care of “sissy”. I slept through all of it. When I woke up, I glanced over and saw my mom and Stewart, our pastor, standing beside the bassinet staring at a sleeping Gabrielle. Since it had been 2 hours since she nursed, she soon woke up and shrieked for more food. I am SO thankful that nursing is going well. I am also thankful that she hasn’t had any of the crazy post-birth stuff to deal with that Sam had. According to my doc, my tearing was minimal and required only 2 stitches- a small fraction of the amount after Sam’s birth. Gabrielle’s head is smaller than Sam’s but that just makes her look like a miniature Sam.

From April 2013


She’s beautiful!

From April 2013


We are definitely praising God for an EASY and safe delivery that resulted in an amazing, beautiful, not too little, girl.

🙂
Steph

