A Nose In Need…

Leave a comment

This past Wednesday, I went to MOPS sans Sam. Travis stayed home with him because he was still coughing and I didn’t think it would be nice to have him around other kiddos. Aren’t I considerate? 🙂 While I was gone, my guys had tons o’ fun- until it abruptly ended with Sam tripping and falling face first into the baby gate we have in our hall. By the way, the gate is metal. Here is what it looks like…

From February 2011


It is pressure-mounted on the wall and so he hit with enough force to move the gate. When it moved it took a chunk of paint with it. Therefore, you can tell in the picture below how far it moved. I can push and pull all day on the gate and not get it to budge and so, I can’t imagine how hard he hit it.

From February 2011


It didn’t bleed any on Wednesday. However, Thursday morning, it started bleeding slowly. I called the pediatrician’s office and they recommended that I bring him so they could check him out to see if he needed to go to an ENT or orthopedic doctor. Therefore, we headed to the doctor for the second time within a week.

From February 2011


The doc said she doesn’t think it is broken. However, we are supposed to keep an eye on it for the next week and if the swelling doesn’t go down we are to take him to an ENT for an x-ray to make sure it really isn’t broken and to check for clots. She also warned us that since he is so fair skinned, he will probably get a nasty bruise. The bruising started today. I want to try to take a picture every day and do an “anatomy of a bruise”-type post. I am a photo nerd like that. Therefore, this is what it looked like before he went to bed tonight.

From February 2011


He doesn’t like for us to touch the right side of his nose. We are sticking triple antibiotic ointment up his nostrils to provide moisture and help promote healing. Hopefully, the bruise won’t get too bad and that he won’t have to go to the doc again.

Steph
** I just posted my Project 365 update below so keep reading if you haven’t checked it out yet.

Project 365 (Week 5)

Leave a comment

From Project 365 (2011)


1/29/11 Sam practicing his pedaling skills at SEBTS while we were waiting on Travis to break for lunch in the class he was teaching.

From Project 365 (2011)


1/30/11 Sam resting with his friends in his bed.

From Project 365 (2011)


1/31/11 A nightly ritual at our house is to tell the Whoa Whoa (train) goodnight. Sam needed to fix the train this night before he kissed it goodnight.

From Project 365 (2011)


2/1/11 My birthday present from my parents arrive! It is the food grinder, slicer/shredder, and veggie/fruit strainer for my new stand mixer. I can’t wait for Travis to get paid so I can go grocery shopping and try my new gadgets out!

From Project 365 (2011)


2/2/11 Sam LOVES trying on our shoes. Usually, they match and are on the correct feet- just not this day.

From Project 365 (2011)


2/3/11 Sam hit his nose on the baby gate in the hall yesterday. It swelled pretty bad and started bleeding this morning. Therefore, we took him to the doc- for the second time in less than a week.

From Project 365 (2011)


2/4/11 His nose is still swollen and is starting to bruise. This is what it looked like before bed tonight. The red spot below his lip is a healing carpet burn from last week- the joys of raising a hyper boy!! 🙂

Steph