Trey’s boat still hasn’t been finished. Therefore, he got to go to the zoo again with us. It was a great way to “kill” a couple of ours this morning. I downloaded a new iPhone camera app called “Camera Awesome” and so I played with it today. It is similar to “instagram” in that it has fun little editing things you can do to your pictures. However, it differs is in that, to me, it doesn’t seem to greatly affect the “quality” of the shot AND it can do videos! No more switching between apps! YAY! Here are some of the fun pictures I took this morning…
Just to give you an idea of what the photos look like before any editing, this is a completely unedited pic. It doesn’t look grainy at all (to me) and I usually notice grainy-ness in even my unedited instagram shots.

From March 2012


Now onto some others. This first set is the same picture- unedited and edited. On the edited one, I added “texture” to the entire picture, a frame, and some color modification.

From March 2012


From March 2012


Now for just edited ones…
I didn’t know there were TWO Swipers!!!

From March 2012


It was highly entertaining watching these zoo workers chase this bird down to clip its wings. One had a net and the other crawled under the walkway but, they finally cornered it!

From March 2012


BIG porcupine… there were actually two in the log.

From March 2012


This was the first time we saw the blank panther doing anything besides grooming itself. Today, it looked like it was posing for pics. HA!

From March 2012


Apparently, it was getting sleepy because then it yawned…

From March 2012


Um, yeah, I don’t want to be ANYWHERE NEAR that large mouth without some kind of protection. Yikes!

This is another unedited/edited picture because I can’t decide which one I like more. It seems like each time we go we find a new animal. The part that disturbs me is how many times we’ve walked past this animal and NOT noticed it. It creeps me out- it is right across the sidewalk from their playground. Maybe this is how they convince the kiddos to stay on the playground and not run off? HA!

From March 2012


Yes, that is a “green anaconda” and they can grow to be 16 feet long. I have no idea how long this one was but that bowl of water it is laying in was not small. Travis estimates he was about 13 feet long.

From March 2012


On the information sign it lists things the anaconda is known for eating, like jaguars. Another animal it eats is actually located just down the sidewalk from him (population control, hmm…) it is a capybara and this is what it looks like.

From March 2012


Their information signs says that they grow to be about 4 feet long and weigh around 100lbs. I have a hard time fathoming that a snake can eat something that big but apparently the anaconda does!!!

It was a fun trip. Travis joked with Trey that he (Trey) has been to the zoo more times since he has been “living” with us than he had his entire life. HA HA! We love the zoo!!

🙂
Steph