Two things that should never mix- tornadoes and baseball. Thankfully, for us they haven’t.

Last night, we were under a tornado warning. The missionary house we are living in is OLD and the ONLY “interior” room is the hall way that basically has a door every foot or so. Travis originally thought of us going to LC’s library and going down in the basement- which would definitely have been safer but we would’ve had to load up in the car to get over there. I suggested the science building which is just across the street since I knew that their were classrooms in the middle of the building. Travis agreed and so he, Trey, Sam, and I ran across the street. We walked around for a bit and finally ended up in a physics classroom.

From March 2012


While we “hung out”, Travis introduced Sam to various physics tools. The one below was a favorite for all of us.

From March 2012


We stayed in the classroom for about 30-40 minutes, until the tornado threat was over, and then ran back home and went to bed. It was a very eventful night! We are very thankful for God’s protection over us.

Today, I received the much anticipated text from Sam’s wee ball coach. He has his first practice tomorrow night. We are all excited. I, seriously, think the first thing I thought about when we were pregnant and found out that we were having a boy was going to Little League games. CRAZY! I hate watching baseball on TV but I absolutely love watching it in person and watching 3-4 year olds play should be highly entertaining!

This afternoon, Sam biked up to Travis’ office.

From March 2012


Then he worked out with the football team.

From March 2012


Then it was suppertime- crock pot shredded chicken alfredo with GF spaghetti. Yum!

From March 2012

After supper, Travis, Trey and Sam went out in the front yard to work on batting for a bit while I made some homemade ice cream (vanilla with Ghiradelli chunks.) In my mind, you can’t get too much more all-american than baseball and homemade ice cream. 🙂 While the ice cream was churning, I went outside to try to snap a few pictures. I “bursted” one full swing and will post the pictures below- please notice Sam’s tongue. In every picture I took with either my phone or my camera, his tongue was like that. HA HA!!

From March 2012


From March 2012


It was a good, clean hit! Way to go, SAM!!!

From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


Because I had to post one more picture of the “batting tongue” in practice…

From March 2012


Then we all came in and enjoyed some homemade ice cream!!

From March 2012


Now my camera battery is charging so I can take pictures at practice tomorrow. WOO HOO!!

🙂
Steph