(even if Sam didn’t take a nap- pooey!)

First off, last night was the 2nd Parent’s Night Out that Philadelphia Baptist has held since we moved here. We dropped Sam off last night and headed to the Outback for supper. Here is what Travis got-

From March 2012


I got the GF “usual”- 6oz sirloin, baked potato, and house salad with no croutons. Nothing fancy and nothing to write home about (or take a picture of.)
When we picked Sam up, he brought home a jellyfish! That was their craft they made. It is too cute!

From March 2012

We “slept in” this morning and didn’t get out of bed until almost 10. Granted, we were awake before then- we laid in bed and watched She-Ra and He-Man as a family. I thought it was kind of fun to watch some of our favorite cartoons as kids with Sam. He seemed to enjoy it so hopefully, we will do this more often. 🙂

Yesterday, I packed up our “winter clothes” and fully unpacked all of our summer clothes (that aren’t still in the POD- ugh.) In the process of doing this, I found my birkenstocks which made me VERY happy. I HATE wearing shoes but I am not a gifted runner in flip flops and I tend to need to do that often with Sam. I have some of those five finger shoes and I like them but I am still having feet problems and so they aren’t very comfy. My birks have a strap on the back and so I can run around in them, they are supportive so my feet don’t hurt, AND they don’t require socks so my feet stay cool. WOO HOO!! I’ve had a happy feet day. 🙂

From March 2012

Then, after showers we had a quick baseball practice out in the yard while Uncle Trey finished up a few things inside. I FINALLY changed out the lens on my camera and so my picture quality has gone WAY up. Therefore, I got a bit picture-happy today. Here are some for “practice” and apparently Sam’s “tongue thing” also occurs when he throws- crazy!

From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012

We went to McAlister’s for lunch and then went to a locally-owned sporting goods store. Last night, we received a text from Sam’s coach that his team colors changed from red and black to light blue (we call it Carolina Blue) and black. Of course, I would get this text about an hour after I finished drying 2 pairs of brand new red socks! Anyway, we searched after dinner for some and were unsuccessful. I replied to the text from the coach and the recommendation to try Cenla Sports was given. They were closed last night so we tried today. We were successful! They even had a t-ball helmet with face guard that fit Sam. Since it was actually sized for 8-10 year old we decided to go on ahead and buy it instead of taking the chance that Sam might get up to bat Thursday night and there not be a helmet big enough to fit his big head. He really enjoyed wearing it around today.

From March 2012


From March 2012


After supper, he tried to pull it off and it apparently pulled hair or something and that made him not happy. Tonight, I tried to get him to “model” his helmet for Mum Jubie and he would have nothing to do with it. Hopefully, we can convince him it is cool to wear his helmet again! If not, maybe I can find a softball team and supply my own helmet- yes, I have a small head.

From March 2012


HA HA!
For supper tonight, we had a GF biscuit crust pizza. I found this recipe and just replaced their GF flour recommendations with my flour blend and it worked GREAT! It was yummy and since it didn’t have yeast in it, we were eating supper within 20 minutes of preparing the dough. That is about how long it takes with frozen store bought pizza- for A LOT less than the price of a frozen GF pizza. Here is the final product…

From March 2012


Then, we went to Kees Park to let Sam run around a play for a bit. There were quite few kids there but I did run into a mom that I had met at story time and she invited me to a mommy group that meets on Monday mornings. I have been trying to go but keep forgetting since Trey’s been here. I am definitely more excited to go now that I know someone who attends. She and her husband have twin girls who are a little younger than Sam and then another little girl who MIGHT be one. Plus, they (this lady and her hubby) are LC alums! How fun!

Anyway, here are some of the pictures from the park. Sam enjoyed driving Uncle “Gay” and Daddy around on the school bus.

From March 2012


From March 2012


Then he wanted to swing. Unfortunately, he was wearing sandals and he STILL doesn’t like sand in his shoes.

From March 2012


But, after SLOWLY walking across the sand, he made it to the swings and had a blast swinging beside his Uncle.

From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


Here is a video of him swinging… (in case you’ve never seen a child swing before- HA!)

But soon, it was time to walk across the sand again. This time, I had my camera ready…

From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


From March 2012


Once that was done, he had a blast playing on the rest of the playground…

From March 2012


From March 2012


I love his hair in this one!

From March 2012


From March 2012


He had to drive the school bus some more.

From March 2012


From March 2012


After we finally convinced him to leave, we went to Splurge for some yogurt.

From March 2012


Sam always gets strange concoction. This is what he had tonight…

From March 2012


He had pink lemonade sorbet with m&ms, gummy bears, crushed oreos, crushed graham crackers, blue berries, ONE chocolate covered raisin, strawberry “poppers”, and cool whip. He ate all of it and said it was yummy. 🙂

Travis got a “blendz”- wedding cake yogurt with cherries. It looked yummy!

From March 2012


Wow! This was a lot longer than I had expected but I did include oodles of pictures. Until next time…

🙂
Steph